A-Z Resources

Virginia state agency resource.

Contains peer-reviewed research.

Contains E-books.

Contains complete full text documents.

Video tutorial available.

Contains some full text documents.

Requires library card login when off the VDOT network.

Contains datasets.

Accessible only from the VDOT network.

The most frequently-used databases

ASCE Library

Full text articles in 37 ASCE peer-reviewed technical and professional journals from as far back as 1983-present, plus 68,000 ASCE conference proceedings papers from as far back as 1996-present, as well as 550 eBooks—for a combined total of more than 200,000 online documents. VDOT employees only.

ASTM Compass

Provides access to 12,900 standards from ASTM, 2,120 standards from AASHTO and 480 from AWS, in addition to 1,800 electronic manuals, monographs and reports (12 published by AASHTO), and 52,250 papers and articles from ASTM journals and proceedings for a total of more than 68,000 documents. First-time users are required to complete account registration (first access only). VDOT employees only.

Engineering Workbench

Full-text access to a "custom collection" that includes 268 standards from the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA) and 3 standards from the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). These standards all focus on fiber optic telecommunications systems VDOT is responsible for.

Highway Capacity Manual, 7th Edition

For decades the Highway Capacity Manual (HCM) has been the go-to reference source of concepts, performance measures, and analysis techniques for evaluating the multimodal operation of streets, highways, freeways, and off-street paths. The new 3-volume 7th Edition (this eBook version combines all three in a single PDF file) contains important new information. VDOT employees only.

Knovel

Full text of more than 5,000 publications from key publishers in transportation, engineering, environmental, emergency response and fire protection. Contains AASHTO titles like: "A Policy on Geometric Design of Highways and Streets," “Standard Specifications for Transportation Materials and Methods of Sampling and Testing,” and “AASHTO LRFD Bridge Design Specifications." First-time users are required to complete account registration (first access only). VDOT employees only.

National Electrical Safety Code® (NESC®)

The 2023 NESC(R) covers practical safeguarding of persons during the installation, operation, or maintenance of (1) electric supply stations, (2) overhead supply and communications lines, and (3) underground or buried supply and communication cables. It also includes work rules for the operation of electric supply and communications lines and equipment. This Code consists of the introduction, definitions, grounding rules, lists of referenced and bibliographic documents, and Parts 1, 2, 3, and 4 of the 2023 Edition of the National Electrical Safety Code.

NBER Working Papers

Includes more than 33,000 papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER), a private, nonprofit, research organization dedicated to enhanced economic understanding. Includes the Working Papers series, Technical Working Papers, and historic papers with 1,200 new documents added yearly. Any visitor may access up to 3 papers a year for free. VDOT employees (and other US government employees) may register for free access to all papers using their .gov email address.

ScienceDirect

Search the world's leading source for peer-reviewed scientific and technical journals. VDOT employees may access 18 million full-text articles from more than 4,000 journals and chapters from more than 39,000 e-books. Employees must register with their VDOT email address.

Skillsoft Books

Formerly "Books24x7" this resource provides desktop access to about 28,000 full-text online eBooks, audio books, book summaries, and instructional videos in the fields of: Business, Engineering, Finance, Leadership, IT, Software Applications and more. VDOT employees only.

Transportation Research Record (TRR)

Search and retrieve full text articles of the online version of Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board. TRB provides VDOT and other "sponsors" full-text online access to nearly 24,000 articles from 2007-present. VDOT employees only.

TRID

Combines records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than 1.4 million records of transportation research worldwide. Exceptionally helpful for finding state DOT research reports.

View All View Less

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.

CORROSION: The Journal of Science and Engineering

New

CORROSION is the premier research journal featuring peer-reviewed technical articles from the world’s top researchers and provides a permanent record of progress in the science and technology of corrosion prevention and control. Includes over 7,100 peer-reviewed articles from Vol. 1 (1945) - present of this publication by the Association of Materials Protection and Performance (AMPP). VDOT employees only.

Highway Capacity Manual, 7th Edition

New

VDOT Crash Analysis Tool

New

The VDOT Crash Analysis Tool is a data portal that utilizes Microsoft Power BI software. It was developed by VDOT's Traffic Engineering Division, Highway Safety section for crash analysis purposes, but a publicly accessible version is available. The main source of the data is owned and maintained by the Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). This site was made publicly available on October 23, 2019. It contains data from 2015-present.

A-Z Resources

Icon Legend

Featured Databases

New / Trial Databases