Database Usage
Use of library subscription databases was this quarter, leveling out just above its five-year average. Total downloads were 4,054 full-text downloads, well above our 5-year average of 3,500/quarter. In recent years during the COVID-19 pandemic (starting in FY20Q3) we saw unpredictable swings in database usage, from a record high of 4,302 (October-December 2020) to a modern-day low of 1,915 in January-March 2022. Those numbers have all leveled out as VDOT returns to business as usual. As is typically the case, this quarter we saw strongest usage from the ASTM Compass and ASCE Library, however, we noticed an unusually strong showing from Transportation Research Record as well. However, we have also noticed an uptick in access to eBooks in Skillsoft Books and EBSCO eBooks.
The Library continues to expand access to resources through "self-service" online subscription databases. We now provide 22 subscription databases to VDOT employees (19 of those are "full text" resources). The table here shows the number of downloads per month (below) from each database. The trend over the past year (right), has been higher than usual.
| Subscription Downloads By VDOT: FY24 Q3 | ||||
| January | February | March | Total | |
| ASTM Compass | 508 | 758 | 593 | 1,859 |
| TRR (Sage) | 227 | 250 | 228 | 705 |
| ASCE Library | 199 | 238 | 182 | 619 |
| Knovel | 102 | 85 | 87 | 274 |
| Skillsoft Books | 73 | 76 | 93 | 242 |
| Non-Subscription Downloads (EOS Catalog) | 65 | 43 | 37 | 145 |
| * EBSCO eBooks | 29 | 6 | 16 | 51 |
| EBSCO Business Book Summaries | 17 | 10 | 20 | 47 |
| ** Miscellaneous Content | 19 | 9 | 14 | 42 |
| ScienceDirect | 25 | 8 | 4 | 37 |
| EBSCO Business Source Corporate Plus | 13 | 11 | 9 | 33 |
| Monthly Totals | 1,277 | 1,494 | 1,283 | 4,054 |
* The EBSCO eBooks category combines three EBSCO eBook collections: Harvard Business Review Press, BussinessCore and EngineeringCore.
** The Miscellaneous Content category includes resources from the ICE Virtual Library collection, Taylor & Francis, ACI, Corrosion and IEEE Xplore.
530 Edgemont Road,
Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2024, VDOT. All rights reserved.
Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard
