VDOT Research LibraryAn official website of the Commonwealth of Virginia Here's how you knowAn official websiteHere's how you know
Database Usage
Use of library subscription databases as measured by full-text downloads varies from quarter to quarter. In Q1 of this year we saw a record of 4,684 downloads. This quarter, we saw the second highest number of downloads since we've been collecting statistics, at 4,409. The library's 5-year average is 3,601 downloads a quarter. This quarter we observed high levels of usage by ASTM Compass, ASCE Library, TRR and Knovel.
The Library continues expanding access to resources through "self-service" online databases. We provide 20 subscription databases to VDOT employees at this time. Because we serve both engineering and business needs, we tend to see steady usage month to month. Tables here show the number of downloads per month (below) from each database, and the trend over the past year (right). This quarter usage was well above average for the past 5 years.
| Subscription Downloads By VDOT: FY24 Q4 | ||||
| April | May | June | Total | |
| ASTM Compass | 741 | 389 | 446 | 1,576 |
| ASCE Library | 312 | 261 | 358 | 931 |
| TRR (Sage) | 284 | 249 | 238 | 771 |
| Knovel | 113 | 138 | 223 | 474 |
| Skillsoft | 112 | 121 | 105 | 338 |
| Non-Subscription Downloads (EOS Catalog) | 37 | 52 | 26 | 115 |
| * Miscellaneous Journals | 10 | 18 | 34 | 62 |
| * EBSCO eBooks | 11 | 16 | 27 | 54 |
| EBSCO Business Source Corporate Plus | 12 | 18 | 13 | 43 |
| ScienceDirect | 13 | 7 | 3 | 23 |
| EBSCO Business Book Summaries | 10 | 2 | 10 | 22 |
| Monthly Totals | 1,655 | 1,271 | 1,483 | 4,409 |
* Miscellaneous Journals: Includes journals from the ICE Virtual Library collection, Taylor & Francis, ACI and Corrosion.
530 Edgemont Road,
Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2024, VDOT. All rights reserved.
Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard
