Database Usage
Subscription database use reached a new record this quarter with 4,151 downloads, outpacing our 5-year quarterly average by nearly 1,000 downloads. Leading all resources was ASTM Compass (usually the most heavily used database), which also showed record usage. That was followed by EOS Library catalog clickthroughs and finally Knovel, which is also usually in the top 3. We noted anuptick in usage of our EBSCO eBooks database, which has a new collection of 700 eBooks from Harvard Business Review, which we started promoting this quarter through Connection posts and LinkedIn with a Quick-Start Guide to support users. We also noted increased use of Business Source Corporate Plus, which we believe to be due to the library's development of a new "Core Journals" list that is helping patrons find journals hidden in databases.
The VDOT Research Library continues to expand access to key resources through desktop access to subscription databases. VDOT employees have access to 16 database subscriptions (15 of those are "full text") and because we serve the entire VDOT community, these resources see steady usage. The tables here show the number of downloads per month this quarter (averaging 1,383/month this quarter), and the trend over the past year (right), averaging just over 1,000 downloads/month.
| Subscription Downloads By VDOT: FY21 Q1 | ||||
| July | August | September | Total | |
| ASTM Compass | 545 | 391 | 591 | 1,527 |
| Non-Subscription Downloads (EOS Clickthroughs) | 171 | 290 | 282 | 743 |
| Knovel | 126 | 165 | 130 | 421 |
| EBSCO Business Source Corporate Plus | 23 | 160 | 173 | 356 |
| TRR | 136 | 69 | 57 | 262 |
| ASCE Library | 122 | 56 | 83 | 261 |
| Skillsoft Books | 71 | 67 | 79 | 217 |
| Taylor & Francis Journals | 131 | 44 | 23 | 198 |
| EBSCO eBooks * | 0 | 0 | 131 | 131 |
| ICE Virtual Library | 4 | 16 | 7 | 27 |
| ScienceDirect | 0 | 1 | 4 | 5 |
| EBSCO Business Book Summaries | 0 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Monthly Totals | 1,329 | 1,259 | 1,563 | 4,151 |
* The library recently added a collection of 700 Harvard Business Press eBooks to this database, joining engineering and business eBooks.
530 Edgemont Road,
Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2024, VDOT. All rights reserved.
Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard
