Database Usage
Use of library subscription databases rebounded this quarter compared to the previous two quarters with a total of 3,163 downloads. During the unfolding COVID 19 pandemic we have seen wild fluctuations in all areas of library use, including full-text downloads. There were record high downloads of 4,309 in FY21Q2, and a new low of 1,915 in FY22Q2. Our 5-year average is around 3,100 downloads a quarter. This quarter we observed high levels of usage by by ASTM Compass, TRR, Knovel, and ASCE Library, all of which tend to be leading resources.
The Library continues expanding access to resources through "self-service" online databases. We provide 19 subscription databases to VDOT employees. Because we serve VDOT's engineering and business needs, we tend to see steady usage month to month. Tables here show the number of downloads per month (below) from each database, and the trend over the past year (right). This quarter usage increased right back to the 5-year average.
| Subscription Downloads By VDOT: FY22 Q4 | ||||
| April | May | June | Total | |
| ASTM Compass | 456 | 365 | 401 | 1,222 |
| TRR (Sage) | 121 | 136 | 207 | 464 |
| Knovel | 114 | 142 | 202 | 458 |
| ASCE Library | 154 | 122 | 106 | 382 |
| Skillsoft Books | 41 | 96 | 89 | 226 |
| EBSCO Business Source Corporate Plus | 4 | 13 | 92 | 109 |
| Non-Subscription Downloads (Library Catalog) | 22 | 28 | 36 | 86 |
| EBSCO eBooks | 37 | 34 | 11 | 82 |
| * Other (miscellaneous journals) | 7 | 42 | 31 | 80 |
| ScienceDirect | 12 | 19 | 7 | 38 |
| EBSCO Business Book Summaries | 0 | 13 | 3 | 16 |
| Monthly Totals | 968 | 1,010 | 1,185 | 3,163 |
* Miscellaneous Journals: Includes journals from the ICE Virtual Library collection, Taylor & Francis, ACI and Corrosion.
530 Edgemont Road,
Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2024, VDOT. All rights reserved.
Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard
