Database Usage
Use of library subscription databases dropped this quarter, leveling out just above its five-year average. Total downloads were 3,798 full-text downloads, just above the average of around 3,300. During the past 3 years of the COVID-19 pandemic (starting in FY20Q3) we saw unpredictable swings in database usage, from a record high of 4,302 (October-December 2020) to a modern-day low of 1,915 in January-March 2022. As is typically the case, this quarter we saw strongest usage from the ASTM Compass, Knovel, and ASCE Library. However, we have also noticed an uptick in access to eBooks in Skillsoft Books and EBSCO eBooks. We suspect that is due to the creation and early success of the Innovation Guide, which lists about 50 eBooks, 35 of which are in Skillsoft, and library promotion of the new Highway Capacity Manual in EBSCO.
The Library continues to expand access to resources through "self-service" online subscription databases. We now provide 19 subscription databases to VDOT employees (17 of those are "full text" resources). The table here shows the number of downloads per month (below) from each database. The trend over the past year (right), which spiked in December 2022, remained high this quarter.
| Subscription Downloads By VDOT: FY23 Q3 | ||||
| January | February | March | Total | |
| ASTM Compass | 752 | 549 | 544 | 1,845 |
| Knovel | 326 | 244 | 193 | 763 |
| ASCE Library | 96 | 111 | 149 | 356 |
| TRR (Sage) | 120 | 103 | 88 | 311 |
| Skillsoft Books | 119 | 84 | 100 | 303 |
| Non-Subscription Downloads (EOS Catalog) | 45 | 17 | 20 | 82 |
| EBSCO eBooks | 43 | 4 | 11 | 58 |
| * Miscellaneous Journals | 8 | 18 | 25 | 51 |
| EBSCO Business Source Corporate Plus | 1 | 4 | 11 | 16 |
| ScienceDirect | 3 | 8 | 2 | 13 |
| EBSCO Business Book Summaries | 0 | 0 | 9 | 9 |
| Monthly Totals | 1,513 | 1,142 | 1,152 | 3,807 |
* Miscellaneous Journals: Includes journals from the ICE Virtual Library collection, Taylor & Francis, ACI and Corrosion.
530 Edgemont Road,
Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2024, VDOT. All rights reserved.
Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard
