Database Usage
Subscription database use as measured by full-text downloads dropped from an all-time high (of 4,684 downloads) last quarter to match our five-year average almost perfectly, at 3,451 for the quarter. The 5-year average is at 3,434/quarter. Leading all resources (as is typically the case) was ASTM Compass, followed by Transportation Research Record, ASCE Library and Knovel. As is typically the case, Skillsoft also made a strong showing.
This quarter the library worked with VDOT IT and VITA contractors to establish and test a Single Sign On (SSO) option for the Knovel database. This is the library's second SSO (ASTM Compass was our first in May of this year) and SSO is a direction we would ultimately like to turn for all our subscription databases, as it lowers the barrier to entry for potential users.
We promoted SSO directly to known users, with an article in the library's online newsletter, and via instructional video.
| Subscription Downloads By VDOT: FY24 Q2 | ||||
| October | November | December | Total | |
| ASTM Compass | 646 | 372 | 490 | 1,508 |
| Transportation Research Record | 126 | 233 | 187 | 546 |
| ASCE Library | 176 | 102 | 176 | 454 |
| Knovel | 199 | 117 | 124 | 440 |
| Skillsoft | 129 | 66 | 66 | 261 |
| Non-Subscription Downloads (Library Catalog) | 32 | 24 | 22 | 78 |
| EBSCO Business Book Summaries | 5 | 21 | 28 | 54 |
| EBSCO Business Source Corporate Plus | 13 | 8 | 13 | 34 |
| EBSCO eBooks (3 collections) | 5 | 15 | 13 | 33 |
| * Miscellaneous Content | 5 | 4 | 14 | 23 |
| ScienceDirect | 5 | 5 | 10 | 20 |
| Monthly Totals | 1,341 | 967 | 1,143 | 3,451 |
* The Miscellaneous Content category includes journals from the ICE Virtual Library collection, Taylor & Francis, ACI, Corrosion and IEEE Xplore.
530 Edgemont Road,
Charlottesville, Virginia 22903
Ph: 434-293-1902 | E-mail: Library@vdot.virginia.gov
© Copyright 2024, VDOT. All rights reserved.
Hours: Mon.-Fri.: 8:30-4:30 | Closed: State holidays
Directions & Maps to the Library
Web Policy | Privacy Statement | VDOT Dashboard
